Making a bottle cap capped table.

My niece wanted to decorate a table with bottle caps for a project. So, with Christmas coming, I asked her if she had a table. She said no, so I suggested I make one.

We agreed on the dimensions being “about this long, about this wide and about this high” using arms width as measurement. Being a man of science, I suggested we measure using feet instead of arms. So, the table was to be roughly 4 feet long by 2 feet wide by 1-1/2 feet high, colored black to match the other furniture.

I cut up some legs from a 2×4 to be about 1-1/2 by 2-1/2 by 17-1/2 high.

Bottle-cap-table-2

I used some stock 1×4 for aprons and marked out and chopped the mortises.

Bottle-cap-table-3

I’ve made a table before so this came together easier than I thought. A new router plane helped trim up the tenons in the aprons.

I sheeted the top with plywood and brought it to the client for a review with the intent of adding a moulding after discussion. It was suggested I make up an ogee moulding with clearance for the bottle caps. I was also given an ogee router bit. I got the message.

Here is the table put together.

Bottle-cap-table-4

And with a detail on the moulding.

Bottle-cap-table-5

I painted the table black with a coat of polyurethane. I would have preferred shellac, but I worried about alcohol being spilt on it so went with the poly.

I wrapped it up for Christmas.

Bottle-cap-table-6

Here is the table with the bottle caps arranged. She will either embed the lot in an epoxy or polyurethane or top the lot with glass.

Bottle-cap-table-7

We all pitched in to help collect beer bottle caps, which was fun in itself.

Bottle-cap-table-8

Leave a Reply

