I should have been a rigger.

Tired of hand jointing, I saved up my pennies and got this little piece of art: A Craftsman “Professional” 6-1/8″ jointer.

rigger-1

After a bout of scraping and sanding and squaring it up, it looked like this.

rigger-2

Now to get it up a set of stairs. This thing isn’t exactly light. Also, I had an old wobbly table saw to get downstairs. So, a bit of rigging was in store.

rigger-3

I dispensed with any free-body diagrams, stress analysis etc. and just sketched out my plan on a notepad: some kind of ratchety type thing on one end, a chain in the middle, and the tool on a dolly on the other end.

rigger-4

I laid some TJI beams over the stairs to act as runners.

rigger-5

After a couple of test runs with an empty dolly, I took apart the old saw and took it down the stairs.

rigger-6

I took apart the jointer into slightly less heavy parts. The main part went on the dolly.

rigger-7

…and it inched its way up the steps.

rigger-8

Now it is in its new home.

rigger-9

Leave a Reply

