Making a chair – Gluing up

On to gluing up; Another step I like. No turning back from this point.

I glued up the front and back sections separately. Here you can see the back going together.

Chair-30

I then glued in the side stretchers. I used angled cauls and wedges to keep the clamps aligned.

Chair-32

A quick gander at the joints and I found this knot. How did I miss this????

Chair-33

I let the glue dry and came back the next day to do some surgery.

I drilled out the knot as it went from one side of the leg to the other.

Chair-35

Then I made a dowel out of a scrap of oak.

Chair-37

And glued in the dowel

Chair-38

I let that glue cure and then cut out the rest of the bad material and fitted some hardwood blocks in place.

Chair-39

and planed them flush.

Chair-40

Chair-41

Good job this chair is for me. I’m sure it is a good fix but I wouldn’t be confident giving this chair to someone.

Anyways, calamity averted. On to painting! Paint will solve everything!

Leave a Reply

