Making a chisel handle

The first project for my to try on my lathe was a handle for an old socket chisel I had.

This was one of the main reasons I got the lathe. Along with making great art, the tool would have to earn its keep by making something handy.

I started off with a big lump of ash that I had been given.

chiselhandle1

This I chopped down further with an axe at the workbench….

chiselhandle2

…to give me this rough shape.

chiselhandle3

I mounted the blank in the lathe and let it spin.

chiselhandle4

I started getting the piece fairly round with a spindle gouge.

chiselhandle5

I then started marking off divisions. Really, this was so I could learn to use the parting gouge.

chiselhandle6

After a while, I got a rough handle shape but I cut it too thin and it snapped.

chiselhandle7

So, I started again with a smaller blank with the same process.

I didn’t have a short tool-rest, so I cobbled together one from plumbing pipe.

Yes, I know this is not safe. It was more a proof-of-concept. It did work though.

chiselhandle8

I turned the blank and got it to a rough shape with the spindle gouge.

chiselhandle9

I cleaned up the surface with skew chisels and then sanding it at a slow speed.

chiselhandle10

Here is the result.

chiselhandle11

A bit short, I thought.

chiselhandle12

So I started over and made one longer.

chiselhandle13

Now I have a nice long chisel that I think I’ll use as a paring chisel to clean up tenons etc.

Leave a Reply

