Storage Bench – Design

I was asked to make a storage bench, with a rough outline of dimensions and function. Basically, it had to store clothes, be a decent height to sit on and fit into the allowable space.

So, off I went and started sketching up some rough ideas.

These were:

Bench with open shelves:

Storage-Bench-1

Bench with drawers:

Storage-Bench-2

A low table with storage shelf

Storage-Bench-3

A low table with drawers.

Storage-Bench-4

A chest with a hinged lid

Storage-Bench-5

This last one was the type of bench chosen. However, I was then asked to make it match a sink vanity that would be in the bathroom.

I found that the sink vanity was for sale at the local home center so I went and took a photo of it:

Storage-Bench-6

Also, I found a photo on the internets of the same cabinet. I imported this into a CAD program I had and found the relative dimensions of the frame rails on the doors and the baseboard etc.

Storage-Bench-7

Working from this, I started modeling in Sketchup and came up with this model, which I then worked off.

Storage-Bench-8

 

Next: Cutting up some wood…

Leave a Reply

